Home / Global Research / Funding Schemes / PhD Student Exchange Programme 2019-20


PhD Student Exchange Programme 2019-20

(For CUHK PhD students)

Deadline: 3 April 2019, Wednesday

The PhD Student Exchange Programme is designed to enhance research excellence at the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) through building and strengthening the University’s ties with leading research universities and institutes around the world and to increase the visibility of CUHK as a world-class research university through student mobility. It allows students to enrich their learning experience and facilitates research collaborations between faculty members at CUHK and their international counterparts.

The programme provides basic funding support to CUHK PhD students to undertake short-term research visits in one of the following selected institution, including a member institution of the Worldwide Universities Network (WUN)* to which CUHK belongs.

WUN* members

  • University of Bristol (Bristol), UK
Non-WUN members

  • Brown University (Brown), USA
  • Karolinska Institutet (KI), Sweden


Programme Guidelines and Forms

Applicants can access the programme guidelines, online application form, recommendation and endorsement form, and post-visit report form from the following links:


Information Session

An information session on the PhD Student Mobility Schemes will be held on 1 March 2019 (Friday) at 3pm at Rm 402, Yasumoto International Academic Park. Students interested in applying are encouraged to attend and learn more about the schemes. Registration can be made at https://webapp.itsc.cuhk.edu.hk/ras/restricted/event?id=1212.



For enquiries about the programme, please contact Ms. Olivia Kwok, Office of Academic Links, on 3943-1315 or at oliviakwok@cuhk.edu.hk. For enquiries about leave entitlement, please contact the Graduate School Office at gradschool@cuhk.edu.hk.


* CUHK is a member of the Worldwide Universities Network (WUN). Other members of WUN include University of Alberta, Canada; The University of Auckland, New Zealand; University of Bergen, Norway; University of Bristol, UK; University of Cape Town, South Africa; University College Dublin, Ireland; University of Ghana, Ghana; University of Leeds, UK; Maastricht University, The Netherlands; University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA; The University of Nairobi, Kenya; National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan; Renmin University of China, China; University of Rochester, USA; The University of Sheffield, UK; University of Southampton, UK; The University of Sydney, Australia; Tecnológico de Monterrey (ITESM), Mexico; Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais (UFMG), Brazil; The University of Western Australia, Australia; University of York, UK; and Zhejiang University, China.


Last updated on 17 January 2019