Home / Global Research / Funding/Fellowship Schemes / Internationalisation Faculty Mobility Scheme (Outbound) 2024


Internationalisation Faculty Mobility Scheme (Outbound) 2024

(Applications to be made by CUHK faculty members)

Deadline: Friday, 22 December 2023

The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) places great emphasis on its global engagement. It encourages its research community to connect with researchers from around the world and promotes collaborations and partnerships with academic institutions worldwide to drive research excellence, promote knowledge exchange, and create positive societal impact.

The CUHK Internationalisation Faculty Mobility Scheme supports full-time CUHK faculty members to undertake short-term academic visits to academic institutions outside the Greater China Region for exploration and development of institutional/faculty/departmental-level collaborations as well as collaborative research with leaders in frontier research in diverse fields. The Scheme will also boost the international exposure of individual faculty members and visibility of CUHK as a whole.


Academic Institutions and Strategic Areas for Collaboration
The Scheme is open for visits to academic institutions outside the Greater China Region. It aims to encourage the development of collaborative research with research-intensive and top-tier academic institutions primarily in the four strategic research areas identified in CUHK 2025, which are China: Tradition and Modernity; Innovative Biomedicine; Information and Automation Technology; and Environment and Sustainability. Applications to selected universities with which the University is building strategic ties are encouraged**.

While special considerations will be accorded to applications to visit the University’s strategic partners and those which fall within the four strategic research areas, applications to work in other research areas and with other renowned research-intensive institutions are also welcome. Ideally, the institutions should be ranked within the top 100 in major global university league tables.


**List of priority institutions include National University of Singapore, Singapore; The University of Auckland, New Zealand; The University of Chicago, USA; The University of Manchester, UK; The University of Queensland, Australia; The University of Sydney, Australia; University College London, UK; University of California, Los Angeles, USA; University of California, San Diego, USA; University of Exeter, UK; University of Toronto, Canada; and Utrecht University, the Netherlands.


Programme Guidelines and Forms

Applicants can access the Programme Guidelines, online application form, endorsement form from the following links:



For enquiries, please contact Ms. Olivia Kwok, Office of Academic Links, on 3943-1315 or at oliviakwok@cuhk.edu.hk.


Last Updated on 8 November 2023