Home / Global Research / Funding/Fellowship Schemes / Global Scholarship Programme for Research Excellence for 2019-20


Global Scholarship Programme for Research Excellence for 2019-20

(For CUHK & Visiting PhD Students)

Deadline: 3 April 2019, Wednesday

The Global Scholarship Programme for Research Excellence was launched in 2007 with a generous funding provided by CNOOC. The programme aims to enhance research excellence at the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) through building and strengthening the University’s ties with leading research universities and institutes around the world and to increase the visibility of CUHK as a world-class research university through student mobility. It allows students to enrich their learning experience and facilitates research collaborations between faculty members at CUHK and their international counterparts.

The programme provides basic funding support to CUHK PhD students to undertake short-term research visits to one of the following selected institutions, including the member institutions of the Worldwide Universities Network (WUN)* to which CUHK belongs, while accommodation support is provided to visiting PhD students from one of the following institutions to undertake short-term research visits at CUHK.

  • Brown University, USA
  • California Institute of Technology, USA
  • Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), France
  • ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Hanyang University, South Korea
  • Harvard University, USA
  • Institut National de la Santé et de la Recherche Médicale (INSERM), France
  • Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
  • Ludwig Maximilians University Munich (LMU Munich), Germany
  • Maastricht University, The Netherlands*
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • National Institutes of Health, USA
  • National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Princeton University, USA
  • Stanford University, USA
  • Tecnológico de Monterrey (ITESM), Mexico*
  • The Australian National University, Australia
  • The University of Auckland, New Zealand*
  • The University of British Columbia, Canada
  • The University of Chicago, USA
  • The University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA*
  • The University of Melbourne, Australia
  • The University of Nairobi, Kenya*
  • The University of Sydney, Australia*
  • The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • The University of Western Australia, Australia*
  • Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais (UFMG), Brazil*
  • University College Dublin, Ireland*
  • University of Alberta, Canada*
  • University of Bergen, Norway*
  • University of Bristol, UK*
  • University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • University of Cambridge, UK
  • University of Cape Town, South Africa*
  • University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • University of Exeter, UK
  • University of Ghana, Ghana*
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • University of Leeds, UK*
  • University of Manchester, UK
  • University of Oxford, UK
  • University of Queensland, Australia
  • University of Rochester, USA*
  • University of Sheffield, UK*
  • University of Southampton, UK*
  • University of Southern California, USA
  • University of Sussex, UK
  • University of Toronto, Canada
  • University of York, UK*
  • Utrecht University, The Netherlands
  • Waseda University, Japan
  • Washington University in St. Louis, USA
  • Yale University, USA

Note: Applicants may refer to Appendix 1 for information on application for overseas research attachments at the above institutions.


Programme Guidelines and Forms

Applicants can access the programme guidelines, online application form, recommendation and endorsement form, and post-visit report form from the following links:

For CUHK PhD Students

For Visiting PhD Students



For enquiries about the programme, please contact Ms. Olivia Kwok, Office of Academic Links, on 3943-1315 or at oliviakwok@cuhk.edu.hk. For enquiries about leave entitlement, please contact the Graduate School Office at gradschool@cuhk.edu.hk.


* CUHK is a member of the Worldwide Universities Network (WUN). Other members of WUN include University of Alberta, Canada; The University of Auckland, New Zealand; University of Bergen, Norway; University of Bristol, UK; University of Cape Town, South Africa; University College Dublin, Ireland; University of Ghana, Ghana; University of Leeds, UK; Maastricht University, The Netherlands; University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA; The University of Nairobi, Kenya; National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan; Renmin University of China, China; University of Rochester, USA; The University of Sheffield, UK; University of Southampton, UK; The University of Sydney, Australia; Tecnológico de Monterrey (ITESM), Mexico; Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais (UFMG), Brazil; The University of Western Australia, Australia; University of York, UK; and Zhejiang University, China.


Last updated in January 2019